The Assam Kaziranga University

Assam Government has proposed to rename 11 constituencies, including the Guwahati Lok Sabha constituency, to “Pragjyotishpur”. The other constituencies proposed to be renamed are Batadroba (Dhing), Badarpur (Ramkrishna Nagar), Moran (Khowang), Bhavanipur (Barannagar), Dima Hasao (Haflong), Gobardhana (Manas), Hajo (Sualkuchi), Narsingpur (Dholai), and Darrang (Bhairabkunda).

The proposal has been made while keeping the emotions and feelings of the voters in mind. The government has not yet received a response from the Election Commission of India (ECI).

If the ECI approves the proposal, the renaming of the constituencies would be effective from the next general election.

Here are the details of the proposed renamings:

• Guwahati Lok Sabha constituency: Pragjyotishpur
• Batadroba Vidhan Sabha constituency: Dhing
• Badarpur Vidhan Sabha constituency: Ramkrishna Nagar
• Moran Vidhan Sabha constituency: Khowang
• Bhavanipur Vidhan Sabha constituency: Barannagar
• Dima Hasao Vidhan Sabha constituency: Haflong
• Gobardhana Vidhan Sabha constituency: Manas
• Hajo Vidhan Sabha constituency: Sualkuchi
• Narsingpur Vidhan Sabha constituency: Dholai
• Darrang Vidhan Sabha constituency: Bhairabkunda

The government has said that the renaming of the constituencies is in line with the state’s cultural and historical heritage. The proposal has been welcomed by some people, while others have expressed concerns about the cost and logistics of the renaming process.

The ECI is expected to take a decision on the proposal in the coming weeks.

The Assam Kaziranga University