The Assam Kaziranga University

Six of the 12 areas of difference will be addressed in the “first phase,” in order to end the decades-long border conflict between Assam and Meghalaya.

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma announced this on Tuesday while briefing leaders from all political parties in the state.

He said, “Our efforts to resolve Assam-Meghalaya border row have started bearing fruits as 6 of the 12 areas of difference have been identified for resolution in the first phase.”

He added, “The areas of differences taken up for final settlement are: Hahim, Gizang, Tarabari, Boklapara, Khanapara-Pillingkata and Ratacherra.”

The chief minister further added, “A roadmap for amicable settlement has been prepared based on recommendations of three regional committees with representatives from both the states.”

On Tuesday, CM Sarma interacted with leaders from various political parties in Assam to discuss the ongoing border conflict with Meghalaya.

The meeting took place at the State Guest House in Koinadhara, Guwahati.

Representatives from all political parties were briefed by CM Sarma on the latest developments in the border dispute negotiations with Meghalaya.

The meeting was attended by Assam ministers, Ranoj Pegu and Ashok Singhal, leader of the opposition – Debabrata Saikia, MLAs, chief secretary Jishnu Barua, senior government officials, and leaders from all parties.

The Assam Kaziranga University